Welcome to The Hub for online Jewish classes and events. Find an upcoming event hosted by Jewish organizations across the world, or explore our on-demand section to view recordings of past events.

Loading Events

A Rendezvous with Walt Whitman and the National Library of Israel

Hosted By: The National Library of Israel (NLI)

Why is there a Walt Whitman Collection at the National Library of Israel? What artifacts from the great American poet are in it, and how did it get to Jerusalem?

On the anniversary of Walt Whitman’s birthday, the National Library of Israel brings you Dr. Fred Sugarman, a leading expert in 19th century American Literature, and Dr. Stefan Litt, NLI’s Curator of Humanities, to shed light on this larger-than-life figure whose influential work now stands as a testimony to what is America.

Dr. Sugarman will unpack some of Whitman’s most famous work and Dr. Litt will share highlights from the Walt Whitman Collection at the National Library of Israel in Jerusalem.

Tuesday, May 31, 2022
8:00 pm in Israel / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

This event is presented by the National Library of Israel in collaboration with NLI USA.

The event listed here is hosted by a third party. My Jewish Learning/70 Faces Media is not responsible for its content or for errors in the listing.

Discover More

Israeli Literature: Reading List

A Reader's Guide: Hebrew Literature in Translation

Righteous Gentiles and Holocaust Rescuers

Some non-Jews stood up to the Nazis, and helped their Jewish neighbors, despite grave dangers.

Pursuing Righteousness

Changing the external to affect the internal.