(Zachi Evenor/Flickr)

Your Guide to the Best Online Sukkot Classes and Events

Learn about and experience Sukkot with these unique classes and workshops from Jewish organizations and synagogues around the world.

Sukkot, the “Festival of Tabernacles,” is one of Judaism’s three central pilgrimage festivals, along with Passover and Shavuot. Sukkot is celebrated by eating meals in a sukkah, a temporary structure built according to specific guidelines; waving the four species, the citron, date palm frond, myrtle, and willow; and rejoicing. This year, Sukkot begins at sundown on Friday, October 2 and continues for a week, culminating in the holidays of Shemini Atzeret and Simchat Torah. We’ve collected some of the best Sukkot-related classes, workshops, and home-based projects to help you prepare for the holiday and celebrate!

 

The Basics of Sukkot

Tuesday, September 29 at 2:00 p.m. ET/11:00 a.m. PT

In this class with My Jewish Learning, we will explore the basic mitzvot – commandments – related to the upcoming holiday of Sukkot. We will touch on the sukkah, the four species, the water libation, and the commandment to rejoice. Led by Dafna Siegman.

The Saga of the Citron: Historical and Global Perspectives

Wednesday, September 30 at 12:00 p.m. ET/9a.m. PT

Join Schusterman Center for Israel Studies at Brandeis University to discover what the etrog, or citron, can reveal to us about larger historical trends.

All is Fleeting: The Book of Ecclesiastes

Thursday, October 1 at 12:30 p.m. ET/9:30 a.m. PT

Join My Jewish Learning for this special Sukkot class on Kohelet, or Ecclesiastes, the biblical book that is read during Sukkot. Rabbi Sara Brandes will lead an inspirational exploration of the main themes of the text, which offer timeless wisdom during these unusual times.

From Yom Kippur to Sukkot

Wednesdays: September 30 and October 7 at 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT

Join Torah in Motion, a Jewish educational institution based in Toronto, Canada, for this Sukkot series. Led by Rabbi David Silber.

Experiences in the Aleph Sukkah 

Friday, October 2 through Saturday, October 10

Join Aleph, the Alliance for Jewish Renewal, for prayer and learning experiences throughout the week of Sukkot! Chose among services, teachings, and meditation, with a different offering every day of the week.

Sukkot Workshop

Tuesday, September 29 at 7:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. PT

Learn more about the holiday of Sukkot in this session with Rabbi Buchwald of the National Jewish Outreach Program.

Sukkah in Place

Thursday, October 1 at 8:00p.m. ET/5:00p.m. PT

The Jewish Museum presents an art experience that reimagines the human body as this year’s sukkah. Four choreographers will offer different perspectives in a physicalized ritual.

Sukkot Sermon with Dena Weiss 

Thursday, October 1 at 8:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. PT

Dena Weiss of the Hadar Institute, an egalitarian educational institute based in NYC, will offer a pre-holiday teaching about the holiday of Sukkot.

Sukkot, Shemini Atzeret, and the Joy of Water

Tuesday, October 6 at 2:00p.m. ET/11:00a.m. PT

Join My Jewish Learning’s special class led by Sarah Chandler. In ancient times, Sukkot opened with a water-drawing ritual which symbolized faith that the coming year’s rains would fall just in time.  On Shemini Atzeret, we mark the beginning of the daily prayer for rain with a special prayer. How can these rituals inform contemporary Jews’ relationship to rain?

SukkotLIVE: A Five Senses Sukkah

Tuesday, October 6 at 7:30p.m. ET/4:30p.m. PT

JewishLIVE has created an online, multi-room, wander-able Sukkah, and you are invited! Guests will be able to travel into the different rooms and engage each of the five senses.

Rise Up! A Community Sukkot Celebration

Tuesday, October 6 at 11:00p.m. ET/8:00p.m. PT

Join the Jewish Federation of Seattle for this online, community-wide Sukkot celebration!

Growing in Temporary Spaces: A Sukkot Writing Workshop and Discussion

Wednesday, October 7 at 10:00a.m. ET/7:00a.m. PT

Join Hazon, an organization focused on strengthening Jewish life and working towards environmental sustainability for this Sukkot writing workshop.

Shaking the Lulav and Etrog

Wednesday, October 7 at 10:30a.m. ET/7:30a.m. PT

Tune in to My Jewish Learning’s Facebook page to hear Dafna Siegman explain the four species and shake the lulav and etrog under her Jerusalem Sukkah!

Do-It-Yourself Sukkot Activities

Check out suggestions from HighHolidays@Home for Sukkot-related projects you can do at home, on your own time!

Sukkot on Sefaria

Sefaria is an open source online library of Jewish texts. Browse through traditional texts and contemporary source sheets related to Sukkot, such as “How to Shake a Lulav” and “The Symbolism of a Sukkah.” Try out Sefaria’s new feature enabling users to learn in real time on video with a chevruta, a study partner!

Sukkot learning resources from Pardes

Listen to a variety of Sukkot teachings from faculty members at Pardes, an educational institute based in Jerusalem. A Sukkot compendium of written materials is also available for download.

Discover More

Join My Jewish Learning Live Online for the High Holiday Season

Join My Jewish Learning for a meaningful and engaging online experience on Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, and throughout the holiday season.

Daily Guide to Our Zoom Events, Livestreams and Other Online Resources

Lots of Jewish learning has migrated online during this public health scare. Here's a guide.

These 11 Instagram Photos from Around the World Will Inspire You This Sukkot

Check out these snapshots of Jews (and friends) getting their sukkah on.

Must-Know Sukkot Words and Phrases

Key terms for the holidays of Sukkot, Shemini Atzeret and Simchat Torah.

Sukkot 2021

In 2021, Sukkot begins at sundown on Wednesday, Sept. 20 and ends at sundown on Wednesday, Sept. 27.

What Is A Sukkah?

Dwelling for Sukkot.

Celebrating Sukkot without a Sukkah

How to creatively approach the fall harvest holiday, even if you can't build a hut.

Sukkot for Families

Creative tips for the happiest time of the year.