Where to Stream Simchat Torah Services and Celebrations

Join synagogues from across the country and denominational spectrum for Simchat Torah and Shemini Atzeret services and celebrations.

At the conclusion of Sukkot are the two holidays of Shemini Atzeret and Simchat  . In Israel and among Reform Jews they are combined into one holiday on the day after the conclusion of  . Among more traditional Jews outside of Israel, they are observed separately from one another on two consecutive days. Shemini Atzeret means the “Eighth Day of Assembly,” and Simchat Torah means “Rejoicing in Torah.” Simchat Torah marks the end of the Torah reading cycle, reflected in the ritual of chanting the end of the Torah, followed immediately by reading the beginning of the Torah. This year, the holidays begin on Friday evening, October 9.

CLASSES
Simchat Torah: Concluding with Blessings and Starting Anew

Thursday, October 8 at 1:00 p.m. ET/10:00 a.m. PT

Rabbi David Silber from the Drisha Institute discusses the Torahs readings for Shemini Atezeret and Simchat Torah.

The Making of a Torah Scroll

Thursday, October 8 at 8:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. PT

Join My Jewish Learning for an inside look into the sacred scribal arts. As we approach the holiday of Simchat Torah, Torah scribe Julie Seltzer will explain what goes into creating a Torah scroll. Participants will learn about ink, parchment, feathers, letter formation, and spiritual intention. There will be ample time for Q&A.

EASTERN TIME ZONE SERVICES AND CELEBRATIONS
Central Synagogue Services

Friday, October 9 at 6:00p.m. ET and Saturday, October 10 at 9:30 a.m. ET

Central Synagogue, a Reform synagogue in NYC, will stream a joyous Simchat Torah service on Friday evening, and a Yizkor service on Saturday morning.

Adas Israel Simchat Torah Services

Saturday, October 10 and Sunday, October 11

Join Adas Israel, a Conservative congregation in Washington, D.C., for Shemini Atzeret and Simchat Torah services. Visit the website for the full schedule.

Simchat Torah with ‘Visual Torah’ at Temple Sholom

Saturday, October 10 at 7:00p.m. ET

Join Temple Sholom, a Reform synagogue in Cincinnati, for a celebration of Simchat Torah with Steve Silbert, creator of VisualTorah, a means of using drawing to connect us to sacred texts.

Shake Your Tuchus: Simchat Torah Party

Saturday, October 10 at 6:30 p.m. ET

Dance the night away with the Jewish Community of Greater Stowe (Vermont) in an online DJ dance party.

Simchat Torah Ritual and Dance Party

Saturday, October 10 at 6:30 p.m.

Kolot Chayeinu, a synagogue in Brooklyn, NY hosts an online ritual event followed by a dance party for Simchat Torah.

Simchat Torah Morning Services

Sunday, October 11 at 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT

Join Romemu in NYC for Simchat Torah services, and the conclusion to the High Holiday season!

Simchat Torah Coast-to-Coast

Saturday, October 10 at 8:00 pm. ET/5:00 p.m. PT

Torah, teachings, dance and song from the Jewish Emergent Network, a network of progressive synagogues, streamed on their Facebook page. No registration required.

Lab/Shul: Unscrolled 2020 – Coming Full Circle for Sacred Justice

Monday, October 12 at 2:00p.m. ET/11:a.m. PT

Join Lab/Shul, an unaffiliated congregation in NYC, for an inter-religious Ritual Rally for human dignity.

CENTRAL TIME ZONE SERVICES AND CELEBRATIONS
Simchat Torah Service and Yizkor at Am Shalom

Saturday, October 10 at 10:00 a.m. ET/9:00 a.m Central

Join Am Shalom, a Reform synagogue in Glencoe, Illinois, for a Simchat Torah morning service that includes Yizkor.

Simchat Torah Celebration with Temple Beth El

Friday, October 9 at 8:00p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. Central

Join Temple Beth El of Eastern Texas for a Simchat Torah celebration and Shabbat evening service.

Shemini Atzeret and Simchat Torah Services at Temple Shalom

Friday, October 9 through Sunday, October 11

Join Temple Shalom in Northbrook, Illinois for evening and daytime services throughout the weekend.

MOUNTAIN TIME ZONE SERVICES AND CELEBRATIONS
Congregation Beth Israel Simchat Torah Service

Friday, October 9 at 8:15p.m. ET/6:15p.m. Rocky Mountain Time

Join Congregation Beth Israel in Scottsdale, Arizona, for a livestream of Simchat Torah services being held in the synagogue courtyard.

Simchat Torah Concert 

Friday, October 9 at 8:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m Rocky Mountain Time

The Aspen Jewish Community in Colorado hosts a Zoom Simchat Torah concert with the band Nefesh Mountain.

Simchat Torah Services with Kol Ami

Saturday, October 10 and Sunday, October 11

Join Congregation Kol Ami in Salt Lake City Utah for multiple service options throughout the weekend.

PACIFIC TIME ZONE SERVICES AND CELEBATIONS
Congregation Beth Israel Simchat Torah Services 

Friday, October 9 at 9:15p.m. ET/6:15p.m. PT and Saturday, October 10 at 12:00p.m. ET/9:00 a.m. PT

Join the livestream of all services, including Torah reading and Yizkor, on Congregation Beth Israel of San Diego’s YouTube channel.

Simchat Torah Dance Party

Saturday, October 10 at 10:00p.m. PT (1:00 a.m. ET)

Put on your dancing shoes for this online Simchat Torah party with Chochmat Halev and Kehilla Synagogue in California.

Simchat Torah Celebration with the Jewish Federation of Seattle

Saturday, October 10 at 9:30p.m. ET/6:30p.m. PT

Join the YouTube stream of live music and dancing with the Torah at a safe distance.

Simchat Torah Celebration and Services at Stephen Wise

Friday, October 9 at 9:15p.m. ET/6:15p.m. PT and Saturday, October 10 at 1:00p.m. ET/10:00a.m. PT

Join Stephen Wise Temple in Los Angeles, California, for an online Simchat Torah celebration in the evening, and a service including Yizkor in the morning.

Simchat Torah Celebration

Friday, October 9 at 9:00 p.m. ET/ 6:00 p.m. PT

Join Temple Leo Baeck in Southern California as they chant the end of Deuteronomy and the beginning of Genesis.

Simchat Torah Celebration

Saturday, October 10 at 10:15 p.m. ET/7:15 p.m. PT

Neveh Shalom, a Conservative synagogue in Portland, Oregon, hosts a Simchat Torah celebration with Havdalah, stories, and a musical concert.

Discover More

Join My Jewish Learning Live Online for the High Holiday Season

Join My Jewish Learning for a meaningful and engaging online experience on Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, and throughout the holiday season.

The Simchat Torah Morning Service

Ending -- and beginning -- the Torah cycle

Must-Know Sukkot Words and Phrases

Key terms for the holidays of Sukkot, Shemini Atzeret and Simchat Torah.

Haftarah for Shemini Atzeret: Summary

Solomon dedicates the Temple, and the Israelites rejoice.

What Happens in Synagogue on Simchat Torah

Special ceremonies for ending and beginning the Torah cycle.

What is Shemini Atzeret?

Not quite Sukkot, not quite its own holiday.