Welcome to The Hub for online Jewish classes and events. Find an upcoming event hosted by Jewish organizations across the world, or explore our on-demand section to view recordings of past events.

Loading Events

Unchartered History: The Story of Leonard Cohen’s Journey in the Sinai During the Yom Kippur War

Hosted By: The National Library of Israel (NLI)

At the height of the Yom Kippur War, legendary Canadian singer-songwriter Leonard Cohen joined Israeli troops on the Sinai front.

Acclaimed author and journalist Matti Friedman, in conversation with renowned author Nicole Krauss, probes the rarely told account of Leonard Cohen’s experience with Israeli soldiers during the Yom Kippur War. Friedman, a frequent user of the National Library of Israel, will include a window into how primary source material helped him navigate and shape the story of this significant moment in Leonard Cohen’s musical journey.

“Unchartered History: The Story of Leonard Cohen’s Journey in the Sinai During the Yom Kippur War”
Monday, May 23th
8 pm Israel time / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

This special online event from the National Library of Israel is presented by NLI USA and the Sami Rohr Prize Writers Showcase.

The event listed here is hosted by a third party. My Jewish Learning/70 Faces Media is not responsible for its content or for errors in the listing.

Discover More

Songs by American Jews

Many of the best-known American songs have been written by Jews--including many Christmas songs.

Israeli Music History

Music in modern-day Israel has a rich history reaching back to the years before the founding of the State.

Jewish Music 101

Music has been a part of Jewish life since biblical times, and remains integral to the Jewish religious and cultural experiences.