Make Vegan Kosher

This entry was posted in Practices on by .

The other night, I went out with my roommate to a local Rastafarian vegan restaurant. We had an awesome time, partially by the fact that they give out free alcohol (you know, to get around the whole not having a liquor license thing). But mostly because the most expensive thing on the menu is $4.50.

This got us thinking. Why aren’t more vegan restaurants kosher? They are all basically kosher already. How much would they really have to change in order to get a kosher certificate?

In a lot of cities, it may not be worth it for vegan restaurant to be kosher because many certificates require their restaurants to be closed on Shabbat. But in a city like New York, where there are plenty of kosher certifications, many of which don’t have that requirement, that really isn’t such a big obstacle.

The biggest obstacle would seem to be that a Jewish OWNER wouldn’t be allowed to work there on Shabbat. And if they insist on working, then they probably wouldn’t get a certificate

Other than that, all that a vegan restaurant would have to do is make sure any oils and vinegars and sauces they may use are kosher. And they would probably have to do some more thorough cleaning of their vegetables.

In return, Jewish food blogs and websites would advertise for them and they wouldn’t even have to change their menu.

Come on vegan restaurants! Get kosher!

Posted on November 4, 2010

Note: The opinions expressed here are the personal views of the author. All comments on MyJewishLearning are moderated. Any comment that is offensive or inappropriate will be removed. Privacy Policy

3 thoughts on “Make Vegan Kosher

  1. RJ

    I’m generally in favor of this, but I’ve learned in the past few years that in some of the Indian vegan restaurants there is a practice of offering some of the food to a Hindu god. Since that would literally mean the diners are eating idolatrous sacrifices, that’s a bit of a theological problem!

  2. mTp

    So what makes vegan not kosher that it would require a kosher license?

    I have one that I really liked. Trader Joe’s has a vegan frozen dish that used to be labeled vegan and Kosher. In small letters at the bottom (for allergy reasons) it says may have been processed on machines that process shrimp.

    So, um, how can they call it vegan and Kosher when it is neither?

  3. BK

    To answer mTp’s question, the warning label has to do with FDA guidelines, not what is actually in the food, so don’t worry about the vegan or Kosher certifications.

    To speak to the actual topic, I just want to point out that cleaning vegetables for bugs is a much bigger deal than you might think, especially in terms of a vegan restaurant at which there are a lot of different and unusual vegetables. Furthermore, many vegan places also try to be particularly eco-friendly, which can be an issue in terms of cleaning leaves and killing bugs.

Comments are closed.