Girl Scout Thin Mints are Now Pareve!

Now here’s some exciting news: The Girl Scouts have been working hard at making sure their cookies can be enjoyed by anyone with diet restrictions, including vegans and those who keep kosher.

This year, the beloved thin mint cookie is now the first Girl Scout cookie to be Certified Kosher Pareve by the Orthodox Union, the Jewish Chronicle reports. In other words, Thin Mints now contain neither meat nor dairy ingredients and can be enjoyed after any meal.

The cookies achieved this new status when the Little Brownie Bakers, the company that makes Girl Scout Cookies, removed whey (a byproduct of milk) and a flavor that contained dairy, with a nondairy flavor.

The bakers contend that this year’s Thin Mints are indistinguishable in taste and texture from the crunchy, chocolaty, and minty cookies you’ve enjoyed in the past.

This year, kosher Jews and vegans alike have had a lot to celebrate–including the announcement of Ben & Jerry’s Pareve ice cream flavors! So far, thin mints are the first and only Girl Scout cookie that are pareve, but all of their other cookies are certified as Kosher Dairy. Yum.

Keep on Noshing

Non-Dairy Pie Hacks for Thanksgiving

I’m not sure who coined the phrase, “easy as pie,” but I’m almost certain she was not familiar with baking ...

Israeli 7-Layer Salad with Labneh Poppyseed Dressing Recipe

Bright greens, toasted pistachios, black lentils and sugar snap peas give this salad a burst of texture in every bite.

How to Host a Vegan Bagels and Lox Brunch

There was nothing like lox, until we tried carrot lox.

Shabbat Chicken with Dried Fruit Recipe

This go-to chicken recipe, with a glossy and delicious sauce, is perfect for Rosh Hashanah or Shabbat.

Classic Potato Kugel

A grandmother's recipe offers an easy route to this classic Ashkenazi dish.

VIDEO: How to Make Stuffed Cabbage

Stuffed cabbage is one of the most quintessential Ashkenazi Jewish dishes.

Baklava with Honey and Cardamom Recipe

You won't miss refined sugar or butter with this sweet treat featuring cinnamon and cardamom-spiced nuts covered with honey syrup.

Chocolate Cranberry Challah Rolls with Citrus Sugar

Simple, sophisticated and just a little fancy.