Welcome to The Hub for online Jewish classes and events. Find an upcoming event hosted by Jewish organizations across the world, or explore our on-demand section to view recordings of past events.

Loading Events

Get Matched with a Study Partner for a Tu Bishvat Talmud Study

Hosted By: My Jewish Learning, Sefaria

Celebrate the Jewish holiday of Tu Bishvat, the birthday of the trees, with a unique one-on-one learning opportunity.

On January 28th, you can join a live, one-on-one video study session. This form of study is known as havruta learning (Aramaic for “friendship”) and has been a common way of understanding the Talmud since ancient times. Using a study guide specially prepared by My Jewish Learning, you and a partner will be guided through a series of texts about Tu Bishvat and the Jewish relationship to trees.

Three time slots are available to accommodate our readers from around the world:

  • 9:00 am ET/6:00 am PT
  • 12:00 pm ET/9:00 am PT
  • 7:00 pm ET/4:00 pm PT

Here’s how to participate:

You’ll be randomly paired with another Talmud learner for a live video chat study session.

The experience will be best on your laptop/desktop computer and using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox. You can download Chrome here and download Firefox here. It will not work on Internet Explorer.

Technical questions?

Discover More

Gluten-Free, Low Sugar Hamantaschen Recipe

One of the most frequently asked questions that we get about hamantaschen (and all desserts, for that matter) is, “What about ...

Why Are We Called the Children of Israel and Not Jacob?

As a Jew, do I respond to the needs of the stranger as I am repeatedly commanded to do so? ...

Does Judaism Ultimately Matter?

Last week, I had a mystical experience. As I took my seat on an airplane flying from Toronto to Vancouver, ...