Welcome to The Hub for online Jewish classes and events. Find an upcoming event hosted by Jewish organizations across the world, or explore our on-demand section to view recordings of past events.

Loading Events

Creative Imagination as a Music Reconstruction Method

Hosted By: The National Library of Israel (NLI)

How can we make music from Holocaust survivor testimonies? How can a classic Yiddish opera be resurrected nearly 150 years after it was written? How can historical sources be used to reinvent classic Eastern European Jewish instrumental music?

Join renowned composer, scholar, musician and educator Dr. D. Zisl Slepovitch for a fascinating discussion of these topics and more.

8pm Israel time / 6pm London time / 1pm Eastern

Dr. Slepovitch will discuss projects he has overseen in recent years, including: Songs from Testimonies – the music project of the Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies at Yale University (since 2018); The Sorceress (Di Kishefmakherin) – Avram Goldfaden’s operetta production by the National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene (2017–2019), and Litvakus klezmer ensemble – reinventing Litvak Jewish instrumental music based on existing sources.

The event listed here is hosted by a third party. My Jewish Learning/70 Faces Media is not responsible for its content or for errors in the listing.

Discover More

The Diary of Anne Frank

The controversy over Anne Frank's legacy.

Who Was Anne Frank?

The story of the young diarist who became a symbol of the Holocaust.

Rosh Hashanah 101

The Jewish New Year is a time of rejoicing and serious introspection.