Welcome to The Hub for online Jewish classes and events. Find an upcoming event hosted by Jewish organizations across the world, or explore our on-demand section to view recordings of past events.

Loading Events

Access Judaism: The Flavors of the Holy Books

Hosted By: Keeping It Sacred (KITS)

You may have heard words like Torah, Bible, Mishnah, Talmud and others thrown around. But what are they about? How old are they? How can we understand them in context? This class will give you a deep appreciation for the canon of Jewish Sacred Literature. No experience necessary. All are welcome.

This is one class in a 16-class series called Access Judaism, intentionally designed by Rabbi Heather Miller. Taken together, classes feature a broad spectrum of Jewish subjects in the realm of history, rituals, culture, philosophy, law, and spirituality. These classes, which include post-class reflection questions and responses, can also count towards requirements for conversion or adult B’nai mitzvah.

All classes are FREE. No one will be turned away for lack of funds.
If you’d like to contribute the suggested donation of $25/class, $180/ 8-class session, or $300 for the entire 16-class Access Judaism course,
please venmo @keepingitsacred,
follow this PayPal link: paypal.me/keepingitsacred
or send check to: Keeping It Sacred 27068 La Paz Rd. #781 Aliso Viejo, CA 92656
Thank you for helping to power our sacred work.
Wednesdays at 7pm PT/ 8p MT/ 9pm CT/ 10pm ET:
The complete lineup is:

Access Judaism: SESSION 1:
10/6 Personal Inventory of Belief
10/13 Radical Responsibility for the World
10/20 Demystifying Denominational Differences
10/27 The Flavors of the Holy Books
11/3 One for Every Mood: The Jewish Holidays
11/10 Jewish Intermarriage: A History
11/17 The Righteous Economic Vision of the Rabbis
11/24 The Kabbalistic Non-Binary God

Access Judaism SESSION 2:
5/11 The Intelligent Design of the Prayer Service
5/18 Reform Renovations of the Prayerbook
5/25 Rituals as Markers of Transition
6/1 The Characteristics of a Good Jew
6/8 Slam Poetry in the Golden Age
6/15 Bad Theology: Terrible Explanations of Why The Righteous Suffer
6/22 Siblings or Cousins?: Jews and Christians in the First Century
6/29 Before You Die, Consider These Rabbinic Thoughts

If you have further questions, or to introduce yourself, please don’t hesitate to reach out to Rabbi Miller: rabbimiller@keepingitsacred.com
Together, we’re #keepingitsacred…

This event is at 10 PM ET and 7 PM PT

This class is part of a 2 session, 16 class series but participants are welcome to sign up for one class, one session, or the whole series. We are happy to see you whenever it works with your schedule.

The event listed here is hosted by a third party. My Jewish Learning/70 Faces Media is not responsible for its content or for errors in the listing.

Teacher

Rabbi Heather Miller

Rabbi Heather Miller is an inspiring, intellectual, and down-to-earth spiritual guide. She Founded Keeping It Sacred (KITS), a center dedicated to surfacing sacred ancient wisdom in ways that are accessible, relevant and empowering. She is an award-winning author, social justice advocate, community leader, and educator who hails from an interfaith, international, inclusive family. For more information, please click here.
See All Events From This Teacher

Host

Keeping It Sacred (KITS)

Keeping It Sacred (KITS) is a center for the exploration of texts and rituals that are accessible, relevant, and empowering. Our mission is to inspire bold, joyful, meaningful living.
See all events from this host

Discover More

How to Get Started with Jewish Meditation

Resources for beginners looking to start a Jewish meditation practice.

Guide to Weekly Torah Commentaries Online

Where to find podcasts, videos and essays on the week's portion.

What is Jewish Meditation?

"Truly, you are where your mind is,” taught the Baal Shem Tov.