Shimon Peres

Long-time leader of Israel's Labor Party.

Print this page Print this page

Subsequently Peres transferred his allegiance to Ariel Sharon and the Kadima Party.

Sharon’s successor, Ehud Olmert, appointed Peres Vice Prime Minister, Minister for the Development of the Negev and Galilee in May 2006.

In 2007, after Katsav’s resignation, the Knesset elected Shimon Peres to serve as the Ninth President of Israel. He was sworn in as president on July 15, 2007 for a seven-year term.

Did you like this article?  MyJewishLearning is a not-for-profit organization.

Please consider making a donation today.

Ami Isseroff

Ami Isseroff is a web journalist and director of MidEastWeb for Coexistence. He lives in Rehovot, Israel.