The Phases of Jewish Bereavement

Jewish mourning customs reflect the natural course of grief and recovery following the death of a loved one.


Reprinted with permission from A Time to Mourn, A Time to Comfort (Jewish Lights Publishing, 1993).

Two thousand years before modern psychology discovered "grief work," the rabbis of the Talmud had established a staged series of steps to manage mourning. There are six basic phases of the Jewish bereavement cycle. Each has a specific time period and a set of major practices and common emotional states that assist the mourner through the grieving process.

Remember: Although these phases are time-bound, the emotions of a mourner’s grief may or may not correspond to these times. The experience of bereavement is highly individualistic and while the time may move quickly, the resolution of grief often takes months or years.

The following provides an overview of the Jewish approach to mourning:

Phase One: Aninut

Time: From the moment of death until the conclusion of the funeral.

Major Practices: Making funeral arrangements, preparing for the funeral, no mourning, no prayer services, no "official" condolence calls.

Common Emotions: Shock, numbness, anger, denial, disbelief.

Phase Two: Aveilut (for Seven Relatives: Mother, Father, Spouse, Sister, Brother, Son, Daughter)

Time: Seven days of shiva [literally, sitting], beginning at the conclusion of the funeral (Day One) through the next six days, unless cancelled by a festival. The first three days are for intense mourning, followed by four days of mourning and reflection.

Major Practices: "Sit" at home, say Kaddish [prayer recited by mourners in praise of God] at prayer services conducted in the home (or synagogue), receive consolers, no work or shaving.

Common Emotions: Sadness, relief, melancholy, comfort, happiness when recalling fond memories of the deceased.

Phase Three: Sheloshim–30 Days (for Seven Relatives)

Time: From the end of shiva (Day Seven) through 30 days from the day of burial.

Major Practices: Return to work, say Kaddishat prayer services in the synagogue, no entertainment, men do not shave.

Common Emotions: Loneliness, busyness, waves of sadness.

Did you like this article? MyJewishLearning is a not-for-profit organization.

Please consider making a donation today.

Dr. Ron Wolfson, visionary educator and inspirational speaker, is Fingerhut Professor of Education at American Jewish University in Los Angeles and a cofounder of Synagogue 3000.

Note: The opinions expressed here are the personal views of the author. All comments on are moderated. Any comment that is offensive or inappropriate will be removed. Privacy Policy